How to restrict someone on Facebook without unfriending or blocking them

This tutorial will show you step by step how to restrict (limit) someone on Facebook without unfriending or blocking them.

Restricting someone on Facebook means that you will stay friends, but that this person will only be able to see the posts that you share in public or the posts you tag this person in.

But first:

Possible reasons why you might want to restrict (limit) someone on Facebook

Meaning of Restricted List on Facebook

If you put someone on the “Restricted” list, it means that you are still friends, but that this person can only see posts that you share in public or the posts you tag this person in.

For example, if you are friends with your boss and add him or her to the Restricted list, and then share a photo with the “Friends” setting, then this photo will not be shared with your boss and other people on the list.

But:

If you tag your boss in the photo, or use the “Public” setting, then your boss can see the photo.

This is a good option for if you want to hide posts on your profile (timeline) for certain friends.

And now:

Restricting someone on Facebook without blocking or unfriending them (method 1)

1. Open your web browser.

2. Go to Facebook.

3. Log into your account (if you're not logged in already).

4. Go to the profile (timeline) of the friend you want to add to your “Restricted” list.

5. Move the mouse pointer (cursor) on the Friends button.

friends button on facebook profile

6. Click on Add to another list.

add facebook friend to another list

7. Click on Restricted.

add facebook friend to restricted list

This friend has now been added to your “Restricted” list and this person can now only see posts that you share in public or the posts you tag him or her in.

Restricting someone on Facebook without blocking or unfriending them (method 2)

1. Open your web browser.

2. Go to Facebook.

3. Log into your account (if you're not logged in already).

4. Go to your profile (timeline).

5. Click on Friends (located just below your cover photo) to open your friends list.

open facebook friends list

6. Go to the friend you want to add to your “Restricted” list.

7. Move the mouse pointer (cursor) on the Friends button.

facebook friends button

8. Click on Add to another list.

add facebook friend to another list

9. Click on Restricted.

add facebook friend to restricted list

This friend has now been added to your “Restricted” list and this person can now only see posts that you share in public or the posts you tag him or her in.


Reference:

Facebook: How do I add someone to my Restricted list?